Movie Movies Home Movies Hot Movie News Conventions Music Restaurants Theatre Travel TV News
Entertainment Spectrum

Search Reviews

 The Movie Guy's Weekly Top 5 Flick Picks
2.The Sessions
3.Trouble with the Curve
4.Perks of Being a Wallflower
5.Liberal Arts

Movie Reviews Page 1
Movie Reviews Page 2
Movie Reviews Page 3
Movie Reviews Page 4
Movie Reviews Page 5
Branson Family Trip

home / hot_movie_news
Kc Film Critics Circle Vince Koehler Award Goes To Sweeny Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street
Bookmark and Share
Reviewed on 2008-01-09
The 42nd annual vote of the Kansas City Film Critics Circle honored work ranging from the rise of a ruthless oil tycoon, the life of French singer Edith Piaf to a fanciful tale of a rat who longs to be a great chef.

The 25 voting members of the organization -- comprised of print, television, radio and online critics from the Greater Kansas City area -- cast ballots in 12 categories on Jan. 6, 2008. Films were eligible if they held advance screenings or opened in the Kansas City area during 2007.

The critics voted the following as the best of 2007:

Best Film: "There Will Be Blood"

The Robert Altman Award for Directing: (Tie) Paul Thomas Anderson: "There Will Be Blood" and Julian Schnabel: "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, "There Will Be Blood"

Best Actress: Marion Cotilliard, "La Vie en Rose"

Best Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem, "No Country for Old Men"

Best Supporting Actress: Tilda Swinton, "Michael Clayton"

Best Original Screenplay: Diablo Cody, "Juno"

Best Adapted Screenplay: Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, "No Country for Old Men"

Best Animated Film: "Ratatouille"

Best Foreign Language Film: "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"

Best Documentary: "In the Shadow of the Moon"

Vince Koehler Award for Outstanding Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror Film: "Sweeny Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street"

The first movie to win the Kansas City Film Critics Circle award for Best Picture was "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" in 1966. The group is the second oldest organization of film critics in the United States.

1999 Entertainment Spectrum Staff Contacts

eXTReMe Tracker